2000: Mark McFarland from Winchester Va. takes home his first ever Old Dominion Speedway NASCAR Weekly Racing Series track title, clinching the division a week before the final race. With 13 wins and 10 Lustine Chevrolet pole awards, he takes the title by 54 points over 5 time track champ Danny Fair. McFarland wins the Gatorade Halfway Challenge, but falls short of the Atlantic Seaboard Regional title by just .008 of a point. Mike Darne from Warrenton Va. adds the Redman Fleet Service / Exide ShorTrack Series title to his resume, holding on to slim lead entering the final race of the season, and beats Willard Lawrence by just 6 points at season's end. Steve Loughman from Locust Grove Va., in only his second season of competing, wins the D&K Electric / Aldie Construction / Accel Performance Mini Stock championship by 10 points over Keith Machliet. Loughman accomplishes that feat by winning just one race during the season, as consistant finishes were the key to the title. Four drivers entered the final night of racing within 2 points of each other in the Gaston Automotive Speedway Sportsman division, and Scott Lunceford survived to take the win and the championship. Lunceford beat Ray Miller to the stripe by 2 car lengths, and took home the title by just 2 points over Miller. Marty Armin Jr. became the first ever INEX Legends track champ at ODS. Armin Jr. came into the final event trailing 4 time feature winner Kevin Yeatts by 6 points, but engine trobles knocked Yeatts out early, handing the championship to the 15 year old from Graysonville Md.