Feature Winner From 6/15/02 - Dustin Storm

Old Dominion Speedway / June 15, 2002

Dustin Storm Takes Home First Win In 2002…………….

Defending track champ Dustin Storm from Prince Frederick, Md. picked up his first feature win Saturday night, leading flag to flag in the 75 lap feature for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Presented by Dodge Late Model Stock Cars. Storm started from the front row, and led the charge into turn one, and was never contested throughout the event. Qualifying was led by Mike Darne in the Jetco Enterprises Chevy, circling the 3/8 mile oval in 15.779 seconds. Brian Jenkins from Fairfax Va. was second quickest with a 15.845 lap in his Jenkins Motorsports Chevy, with Storm third quickest in the Bailey’s sponsored entry with a 15.889 lap. Point leader and current NASCAR Atlantic Seaboard leader Mark McFarland in the Popeye’s Chevy was fourth fastest with a 15.907 lap, while Earl Case rounded out the top 5 with a 15.952 lap in his Idylwood Exxon Shop Chevy. Mike Southard, who had handily won the past two feature events, qualified 9th, and was never a factor throughout the event. The 18 car field took the green, and Storm darted out in front heading into turn one, as the rest of the pack sorted themselves out. The field strung out single file behind Storm, who began to show the strength of his Chevy on every lap. He had a 15 car length lead before the first caution of the night came out when Matt Bucher spun in turn 3. McFarland, who has started fifth, worked his way up to the third spot, but was never able to advance any further. Darne, who started from the fourth spot, worked his way around Brian Jenkins and outside polesitter Dave Moon, and moved to the second spot. But he was no match for Storm, who quickly pulled away at the drop of the green after the caution. The three crossed the strip about 5 car lengths apart at the finish. Following close behind in fourth was Case, followed by Jenkins, Tom Hall, and David Quackenbush.
Jimmy Hardin, driving the Kitzmiller’s Chevy, picked up win number five in 2002, taking the checkers in the 50 lap Redman Fleet Service Grand Stock division. Hardin had to work for this win as he and Chris Donnelly had an altercation early in the event, and were sent to the rear of the field. But Hardin was able to pick his way through the traffic, and took over the lead late in the event to claim the win. Willard Lawrence, driving the Covenant Mortgage Pontiac, had a horrible start and dropped back to as far as ninth, made his way back through the field and finished second, followed another strong run by Mark Miller in the Battlefield Ford entry. Donnelly and Bryan Short rounded out the top 5.
Keith Machliet took home win number 4 in 2002, taking home the checkers in the 30 lap Mini Stock feature. Machliet, driving the MER Waterproofing Ford, beat Tom Beckman to the stripe by 4 car lengths. Mike Carte, defending track champ Sean Dawson, and Vince Langan rounded out the top 5. Jamie DeMattio survived a wild Gaston Automotive Speedway Sportsman 25 lap feature, and took home the win for the second time in 2002. On the first lap, Jeff Pearson spun in turn 3, collecting all but 3 of the original starters. Most of the cars were able to return, but at a reduced speed due to the damage. But DeMattio had to hold off Jeff Sisak throughout the feature to claim the win. Pearson came back and held on to finish third, while Les Miranda and Gus Pearson rounded out the top 5. Steve Mendenhall came from the rear of the field to take home the win in the 30 lap Baby Grand feature. After being sent to the rear of the field after an earlier altercation, Mendenhall came roaring back, and passed leader Alvin Hatcher with just a few laps remaining for the win.
Next Saturday night, the Legends return to ODS, competing in a 30 lap feature. Also on the schedule is a 75 lap feature for the Late Models, 50 laps for the Grand Stocks, 30 laps for the Mini Stocks, and 25 laps for the Speedway Sportsman. Qualifying begins at 5:15 PM, with racing action set for 7:00 PM.
Feature Winners :
Jimmy Hardin, Steve Mendenhall, Kieth Machleit, Jamie DeMattio